Departmental Resources | Dance and Theatre

COVID-19 updates—In an effort to keep everyone healthy, UNT's on-campus operations are closed until further notice. We're serving students remotely. Please stay connected. Stay up to date on UNT’s response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

Have you registered for fall classes yet? While COVID-19 has created some uncertainty for us all, UNT is committed to helping the Mean Green family turn dreams into reality. Let's get through this together!

Register for classes on
Not a UNT student yet? Apply to UNT
Having trouble registering? Get help from an advisor

Departmental Resources

The Department of Dance and Theatre resides within the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences and has a faculty of 15 with approximately 500 majors in dance and theatre combined.

The Department of Dance and Theatre offers a BA degree in dance and a BA degree in theatre. Both programs offer teacher certification, and a minor. Theatre offers a technologies certificate as well. We produce a full season typically comprised of 6 productions choreographed/directed by guest artists, faculty, and students. The Department of Dance and Theatre produces the First Stage Series events directed by current theatre students.

The Department of Dance and Theatre's activities actually occur in two sites that are just a few blocks across campus from each other. The dance programs hold their classes and rehearsals in the Dance and Theater Arts (DATH) Building. Uniquely, the Dance and Theater Arts (DATH) Building has four large movement studios with spring and raised-floating, wood floors.

The theatre program activities primarily occur in the Radio, Television, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building renovated in 2000.

The Department of Dance and Theatre also maintains the University Theater (409-seat proscenium theatre) and the Studio Theater (160-seat black box), and the technical facilities to support the annual season, including a well-equipped costume and scenic shop, and adequate storage.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now