Departmental Resources | Dance and Theatre

Departmental Resources

The Department resides within the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences and has a faculty of 15 with approximately 450 majors in dance and theatre combined.

The Department offers two BA degrees in dance and four BA degrees in theatre. We produce a full season of 6-7 productions and laboratory events choreographed/directed by guest artists, faculty or students.

The Department's activities actually occur in two sites that are blocks across campus from each other. The dance programs hold their classes and rehearsals in the DATH Building. Uniquely, the DATH Building has four large movement studios with spring and raised-floating, wood floors.

The theatre program activities primarily occur in the Radio, Television, and Performing Arts Building renovated in 2000.

The Department also maintains the University Theater (409-seat proscenium theatre) and the Studio Theater (160-seat black box), and the technical facilities to support the annual season, including a well-equipped costume and scenic shop, and adequate storage.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now